The ASC Scheme

Adventure Service Challenge is a three-fold, integrated, interwoven scheme of activity for young people aged 8 to 14 years and beyond.

Offering Activities Of


Discovery, exploration, leisure pursuits, attitudes to and skills for life


Concern for others, opportunities for helping those in need


A comprehensive and complete training programme

The ASC scheme is complete in itself. It is also designed to prepare young people for the Duke of Edinburgh's Award.


ASC is not a youth movement. It is an organised, structured, yet flexible and adaptable scheme of activities. It is multi-faith and open to all cultures. It is unique in that it offers its services to leaders and teachers who wish to meet the needs of a wide ability range of young people.Those taking part are not in competition with each other, their progress is assessed on the measure of their own personal achievement.

Who is ASC For?


Details of Stages

ASC consists of Junior Stages 1 and 2 (generally aimed at ages 8 to 11) and Senior Stages 1 and 2 (aimed at 11 to 14+). Each Stage comprises 8 activities. The Activities for the various Stages of Adventure Service Challenge are as follows:-

Junior Group Activities

Stage 1

  • Emergencies
  • Health
  • Cooking
  • Service
  • Shield
  • Local People
  • The Living World
  • Crafts

Stage 2

  • Safety First
  • First Aid
  • Collection
  • Observation
  • Service
  • Shield
  • Model Making
  • Our Country


Senior Group Activities

Stage 1

  • Roadcraft
  • Cookery
  • Interests
  • Service
  • Shield
  • Campcraft
  • Rambling
  • First Aid

Stage 2

  • Leisure Pursuits
  • Exploring
  • Highway Code
  • Service
  • Shield
  • First Aid
  • Expedition
  • Activity Choice


Full details of the recommended activities for each of the 4 stages, together with guidance on the operation of Adventure Service Challenge are contained in the Leader's Handbook.

Record cards for each stage are available for those taking part. The cards give an outline of what is required for the activities of that particular stage and allow each one to be "signed off" when completed. Red/yellow cards indicate the 2 Junior Stages and blue/green the Senior.

There is a Certificate for each of the 4 stages. These are available for presentation to those taking part, when they have successfully completed the activities for that stage. They are coloured to match the record cards and serve as permanent record of the young person's achievement.

Also available are high-quality enamelled metal badges for Junior Stages (bronze) and Senior Stages (silver).

For a free information pack about Adventure Service Challenge, including the prices of the Handbook, Record Cards, Certificates and Badges, please complete and submit the Information Pack request form.